Balises numériques 32Ko
un projet de Catherine Rannou

produced by the Festival @rt Outsiders / Maison Européenne de la Photography, Paris, 2009
in collaboration with the Contemporary Art Center Passerelle, Brest

 
 

Digital Beacons 32Ko

||||||||||||||| A project by Catherine Rannou

in collaboration with the Festival @rt Outsiders
and the Contemporary Art Center La Passerelle.
From October 15th 2008.

Email exchanges —following a protocol defined by the artist in relation to specific technical constraints— between Catherine Rannou and five people belonging to her professional environment and chosen by her (Annick Bureaud, Ulrike Kremeier, Rafael Magrou, Roger Perrin-Jaquet and Jean-Luc Soret), during her journey in Antarctica from October 2008 to February 2009.

Catherine Rannou is a video artist and an architect, she teaches at the "l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture de Bretagne" (ENSAB) (Higher National School of Architecture of Britany) in France. She is conducting a research in collaboration with the French Polar Institute (IPEV), a glaciology scientific laboratory (LGGE), the Australian Antarctic Division (AAD) and a technical research office (T.E.S.S) in the Antarctic continent, that she started in 2006, during her artistic residency « art at the poles », at the French Polar Base Dumont d'Urville.

During her "Summer Campaign", thanks to a grant from Cultures France Villa Médicis hors les murs, on the French base of Dumont d'Urville (DDU) and the franco-italian bases of Prud'homme and Concordia during the austral Summer 2008/2009 (October 2008 – February 2009), Catherine Rannou proposes to five persons, close to her working field, to be associated to her research through a communication protocol and exchanges about the research conducted in situ and during her travel.

Antarctica scientific bases, if they are first and foremost working places, are also, du to their isolation and the forced confinement, living and intimate spaces.
Data communication, constrained by the extreme isolation of the Antarctic continent from the rest of the world, is difficult and not in real time and exchanges through the usual means of dialogue (telephone, mail, email) is restricted to the utilitarian necessities, mostly technical.
This specific difficulty for dialogue from the Antarctic continent with the rest of the world, which favors mediated exchanges of digital datas against the expression of the body (voice, gestures, ...) is taken into account in the protocol that has been defined.

«Digital samples » are simultaneously sent by Catherine Rannou to the five chosen addressees during her whole journey: from her departure from Paris to her arrival at the Franco-Italian base of Concordia, to her return from Concordia to Paris.
Those « digital samples», no matter their content (digitalized drawings, digital photographs, videos, texts, ....) are restricted to the authorized maximum size for emails from Antarctica, that is 32Ko.

Those exchanges are like beacons or signals which, in return can be interpretated, annotated, expanded and thrown back by the addressees to the sender as well as to the other addressees participating in the project. The distance, growing with the journey, disconnections and other transmission difficulties are distording the exchange.
A parallel space should appear, as an inprint, like a radar that registers the echo of the waves that are bouncing on obstacles.

Contents

The contents of the samples are free but related to the perspective of the artist doing them and to the datas sending format. It has to deal with territory planing, spatial appropriation, waste management, import-export, temporalities distortions and spatial reference points, logistic. Those datas measure, by their addition and chronology the space that has been travelled. Their measurement scale, as well as their topics, are variable, they constitute a transversal gaze, a kind of vision in a 3D cut of the « Antarctic system ».

Periodicity

The time lag does not allow for specific days and time to issue the posts. One post per week minimum will be done by the artist depending on the conditions of communication and on means of transport, hence a minimum of 15 digital beacons will be sent. The frequencies of the posts by the addresses is free. The beacons will be sent to addresses located in France, working in a precise professional environment, but no immediate answers or questions are awaited.

Organisation of the Digital Beacons

The chronological order, in Universal Time (TU) has been chosen to order those exchanges. When the artist is back in France, other methodologies may be used, depending on the means of diffusion.

Diffusion

during the time of the journey

Festival @rt Outsiders / European House of Photography, Paris
exchanges are available on the web site of the @rt Outsiders Festival. A link is established from the @rt Outsiders website to the website of The Contemporary Art Center Passerelle.

Contemporary Art Center Passerelle, Brest
an installation presents the digital beacons sent by the artist as they arrive, in real time, and a link is done from the Contemporary Art Center Passerelle website to the @rt Outsiders Festival website.

Addresses

  • Annick Bureaud (AB)
    Art critic, theoretician, co-curator of @rt Outsiders 2009, director of Leonardo/Olats
  • Ulrike Kremeier (UK)
    Director Contemporary Art Center La Passerelle
  • Rafael Magrou (RM)
    Critic and curator (architecture design and arts)
  • Roger Perrin-Jaquet (RPJ)
    Professor in sociology of habitat (ENSAB)
  • Jean-Luc Soret (JLS)
    Artistic Director of the Festival @rt Outsiders / European House of Photography

Balises numériques 32Ko
un projet de Catherine Rannou

production du Festival @rt Outsiders / Maison Européenne de la Photographie, Paris, 2009
en collaboration avec le Centre d'art contemporain Passerelle, Brest.

 
 

Balises numériques 32Ko

||||||||||||||| présentation du projet

en collaboration avec le Festival @rt Outsiders
et le Centre d'art contemporain La Passerelle.
A partir du 15 octobre 2008.

Echanges par courrier électronique, selon un protocole défini par l'artiste et lié à des contraintes techniques spécifiques, entre Catherine Rannou et cinq personnes de son environnement professionnel choisies par elle (Annick Bureaud, Ulrike Kremeier, Rafael Magrou, Roger Perrin-Jaquet et Jean-Luc Soret), pendant la durée de son séjour-voyage en Antarctique d'octobre 2008 à février 2009.

Catherine Rannou est artiste vidéaste, architecte et enseigne à l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture de Bretagne (ENSAB). Elle poursuit un travail de recherche en collaboration avec l'Institut Polaire Français (IPEV), un laboratoire scientifique de glaciologie (LGGE), l'Australian Antarctic Division (AAD) et un bureau d'études techniques T.E.S.S., sur le continent antarctique, initié en 2006 lors d'un résidence d'artiste "art aux pôles" dans la station polaire française Dumont d'Urville.

Lors de sa "campagne d'été" (bourse de recherche Cultures France Villa Médicis hors les murs) sur la base française de Dumont d'Urville (DDU) et les bases franco-italiennes de Prud'homme et Concordia pendant l'été austral 2008/2009 (octobre 2008 – février 2009), Catherine Rannou propose à cinq personnes, proches de son environnement de travail, d’être associées à sa recherche à travers un protocole de communication et d’échanges sur la recherche entreprise in situ et pendant ses déplacements.

Les bases scientifiques antarctiques si elles sont d’abord des lieux de travail, sont aussi par la nature de leur isolement et du confinement obligé, des lieux de vie et d’intimités.
La communication des données, contrainte par l’extrême isolement du continent antarctique du reste du monde, est difficile et différée et l’échange par les moyens usuels du dialogue (téléphone, lettre, courrier électronique) est restreint à l’essentiel utilitaire, prioritairement technique.
Cette difficulté particulière d’un dialogue depuis le continent antarctique avec le reste du monde qui privilégie l’échange médiatisé de données numériques au détriment de l’expression du corps (voix, gestes…) est prise en compte par le protocole mis en place.

Des "prélèvements numériques" sont adressés par Catherine Rannou simultanément à chacun des cinq destinataires désignés sur toute la durée de son voyage : depuis son départ de Paris jusqu’à son arrivée à la base franco-italienne Concordia et lors du retour de Concordia à Paris.
Ces "balises numériques", quelqu'en soit le contenu (dessins numérisés, photos numériques, capture vidéo, texte…), sont contraints par la taille maximum autorisée de l’échange, soit 32Ko.

Ces échanges constituent des sortes de balises ou signaux, lesquels peuvent être en retour interprétés, commentés, élargis et retournés par les destinataires à l’envoyeur ainsi qu'aux autres destinataires du projet, étant compris que l’éloignement s’accusant au fur et à mesure du parcours, les déconnexions, blancs et autres difficultés des transmissions, distordent l’échange. Un espace parallèle doit se dessiner, en négatif, à la façon d’un radar qui enregistre l’écho des ondes qui rebondissent sur l’obstacle.

Contenus

Les prélèvements sont libres, tout en restant liés au regard de l'artiste les effectuant et au format d'exportation des données. C'est un regard sur les questions d'aménagement du territoire, d'appropriation spatiale, de gestion de pénuries et des déchets, d'import-export, de distorsion des temporalités et des repères spatiaux, de logistique. Ce sont des relevés qui mesurent, par leur cumul et leur chronologie, l'espace parcouru. Les échelles des mesures sont variables, les sujets également, c'est un regard transversal, une sorte de vision en coupe 3D, du "système Antarctique".

Fréquence

Les distorsions temporelles permettent difficilement de fixer des horaires fixes et jours fixes. Un envoi minimum par semaine sera effectué suivant les conditions de communications et de transports. Soit au total une quinzaine de balises numériques minimum seront envoyées. La fréquence des envois des destinataires est libre. Les balises sont émises à des destinataires localisés en France, dans un milieu professionnel bien précis, mais il n'est pas attendu nécessairement de réponses immédiates ou de questions.

Mode de classement

La chronologie temporelle, en temps universel, sera conservée comme mode de rangement lors des échanges. Au retour, d'autres modes de classement pourront être envisagés, suivant les supports de diffusion.

Diffusion

pendant la durée du déplacement-voyage

Festival @rt Outsiders / Maison Européenne de la Photographie, Paris
l'ensemble des échanges est consultable sur le site du festival @rt Outsiders. Un lien est fait depuis le site d'@rt Outsiders vers le site du Centre d'Art Contemporain Passerelle.

Centre d'Art Contemporain Passerelle, Brest
une installation présente les balises numériques envoyées par l'artiste en direct et un lien est fait depuis le site du Centre d'Art Contemporain Passerelle vers le site d'@rt Outsiders.

Destinataires

  • Annick Bureaud (AB)
    Critique d'art, chercheure, co-commissaire d'@rt Outsiders 2009, directrice de Leonardo/Olats
  • Ulrike Kremeier (UK)
    Directrice Centre d'Art Contemporain Passerelle
  • Rafael Magrou (RM)
    Critique et commissaire d'expositions (architecture design et arts)
  • Roger Perrin-Jaquet (RPJ)
    Professeur sociologie de l’habitat (ENSAB)
  • Jean-Luc Soret (JLS)
    Directeur artistique du festival @rt Outsiders / Maison Européenne de la Photographie, Paris.